RTNDF Canada Announces 2011 Scholarship Winners

May 25, 2011

TORONTO, May 25, 2011 /CNW/ - The Radio Television News Directors Foundation of Canada has awarded nine scholarships for 2011.  The awards are made on a competitive basis from applicants across Canada.

This year, over 200 Journalism students competed.  The Overall winner of the George Clark Scholarship will be announced at the RTNDF luncheon as part of the RTNDA National Conference in Halifax, Nova Scotia June 24, 2011.

The Scholarship winners are:

David Thurton - (Hometown, North York, Ontario) Ryerson University, Toronto, Ontario - 660 News Diversity Scholarship

Fadi Didi - (Hometown, London, Ontario) Fanshawe College, London, Ontario - BNN/Jim O'Connell Scholarship

Corey Emmett Murphy (Hometown, Ajax, Ontario) - Fanshawe College, London, Ontario - RTNDF Scholarship

Stefanie Masotti - (Hometown, Tecumseh, Ontario) University of Western Ontario, London, Ontario - Cold-FX Scholarship

Jillian Marie English - (Hometown, Dartmouth, Nova Scotia) Carleton University, Ottawa, Ontario - Atlantic Broadcasters Scholarship

Rosella Chibambo - (Hometown, Ottawa, Ontario) Carleton University, Ottawa, Ontario - The Canadian Press/Eric Murray Scholarship

Micah Lindo - (Hometown, Wilcox, Saskatchewan) Fanshawe College, London, Ontario - CBC/Barbara Frum Scholarship

Zachary Currie - (Hometown, Wainfleet, Ontario) Fanshawe College, London, Ontario - Marketwire Scholarship

In addition to a cash award, winners will receive a complimentary registration to the RTNDA National Conference and travel subsidy for the national conference in Halifax, Nova Scotia.  A luncheon will be held to present and honor the recipients.   CNN Correspondent, Martin Savidge will speak at the luncheon.

For further information:

Sherry Denesha, Operations Manager, RTNDF Canada at (416) 756-2213 or email: sherry@rtndacanada.com or contact RTNDF President, Robert Collins RCollins@fanshawec.ca or visit www.rtndacanada.com

print email rss