RTNDA Canada announces Prairie Regional Award Recipients

Mar 16, 2011

TORONTO, March 16 /CNW/ - RTNDA Canada, The Association of Electronic Journalists, is pleased to recognize excellence in electronic journalism in the Prairie Region when it presents its annual awards in Saskatoon on April 9, 2011.

The RTNDA Canada Awards are given to honour the best programs, stations and newsgathering organizations in both radio and television. "We're pleased to continue a tradition that recognizes the best work of our peers and sets the standard for electronic journalism in Canada." said RTNDA Canada President Andy LeBlanc. "These awards are named after pioneers and innovators in the Canadian news business. I'm sure they would be elated to see the quality of work that exists in award winning local news coverage today. They would join me in congratulating everyone who submitted entries, and especially those who will be receiving awards in April."


Bert Cannings Award - Best Newscast
• Global Lethbridge for News Hour (Small Market)
• Global Regina for Evening News (Medium Market)
• Global Calgary for News Hour (Large Market)
Adrienne Clarkson Award - Diversity
• Global Edmonton for Travel Club
Charlie Edwards Award - Spot News
• Global Calgary for Millrise Fire
Dan McArthur Award - Indepth/Investigative
• Global Edmonton for Animal Neglect
• Global Regina for Human Growth Industry Honourable Mention)
Dave Rogers Award - Short Feature
• CHAT TV, Medicine Hat for Digging Medalta (Small Market)
• Global Regina for Scanner Don (Medium Market)
• Global Calgary for Miracle Reunion (Large Market)
Dave Rogers Award - Long Feature
• CHAT TV, Medicine Hat for 65 Years Later (Small Market)
• CTV Saskatoon for Higher Calling (Medium Market)
• Global Calgary for Pine Lake 10 Years Later (Large Market)
Gord Sinclair - Live Special Events
• CTV Calgary for Olympic Torch Relay
Ron Laidlaw Award - Continuing Coverage
• Global Edmonton for Maddox Flynn
• Global News Calgary for Southern Alberta Floods (Honourable Mention)
Trina McQueen Award - News Information Program
• Newcap Television for Around the Region "Race The Base"
Hugh Haugland Award - Creative Use of Video
• CTV Calgary for Ice Sailing
• CTV Regina for Reel "Em In (Honourable Mention)
Byron MacGregor Award - Best Newscast
• CJOC-FM 94.1 Lethbridge for 3pm News  (Small Market)
• News Talk 980 CJME for Regina at Noon (Medium Market)
• CBC Calgary for Radio Newscast (Large Market)
Best Use of Sound Award
• CBC Radio Edmonton for Neon Bending
Charlie Edwards Award - Spot News
• CBC Radio Saskatchewan for Plane Lands on Highway
Dan McArthur Award - In-depth/Investigative
• CBC Radio Edmonton for Crude Business
Dave Rogers Award - Short Feature
• CJUV-FM Sunny 94 Lacombe for Lacombe Celebrates City Status (Small Market)
• CBC Radio Saskatchewan for Bieber Fever (Medium Market)
• CBC Radio Edmonton for Back of the Class (Large Market)
Dave Rogers Award - Long Feature
• CJCY Radio Medicine Hat for News Special with Christy Mitchell (Small Market)
• CBC Saskatchewan for 25 Years of Aids in Saskatchewan (Medium Market)
• CBC Calgary for Gaston can live with us (Large Market)
Gord Sinclair Award - Live Special Events
• CBC Radio Edmonton for Grey Cup Edmonton 2010
Peter Gzowski Award - News Information Program
• CBC Radio Saskatchewan for The Morning Edition
Ron Laidlaw Award - Continuing Coverage
• CBC Radio Saskatchewan for Making the Grade
Adrienne Clarkson Award - Diversity
• CBC Saskatchewan for Red Road Forward

RTNDA Canada is the voice of electronic journalists and news managers in Canada. The members of RTNDA Canada recognize the responsibility of broadcast journalists to promote and to protect the freedom to report independently about matters of public interest and to present a wide range of expressions, opinions and ideas.  The RTNDA Canada Code of Ethics, adopted by the Canadian Broadcast Standards Council, is used to measure fairness and accuracy in our profession. 

For further information:

Sherry Denesha, Operations Manager, RTNDA Canada at (416) 756-2213 or sherry@rtndacanada.com or Michael Fulmes at (780) 989-4610 or mfulmes@globaltv.com

print email rss