RTNDA Canada unveils new board of directors

Jun 27, 2007

TORONTO, June 27 /CNW/ - RTNDA Canada - The Association of Electronic
Journalists - is pleased to announce its new board of directors. Elections
were held this past weekend as part of RTNDA Canada's National Conference in

The newly elected board consists of:

President Vice President Radio Vice President Television
Bob McLaughlin Jason Moore Renato Zane
A-Channel CKLW OMNI Television
Barrie, ON Windsor, ON Toronto, ON

Treasurer International Past President
Cal Johnstone Representative Terry Scott
A-Channel Hudson Mack Broadcast News
London, ON A-Channel Toronto, ON
Victoria, BC

RTNDF President Awards Chair Conference Chair
Ken Kingston Lis Travers Eldon Duchscher
Antigonish, NS Toronto, ON Saskatoon, SK

Atlantic Directors:
Radio Television
Sheldon MacLeod Kevin Babin
CKBW Global Television
Bridgewater, NS Saint John, NB

Central Directors:
Radio Television
Jim Van Horne George Hoff
Fanshawe College CBC News
London, ON Ottawa, ON

Prairie Directors:
Radio Television
Murray Wood Jeff Bollenbach
980 CJME CTV Television
Regina, SK Winnipeg, MB

British Columbia Directors:
Radio Television
Jasmin Doobay Sandy Heimlich-Hall
Kelowna, BC Kamloops, BC

Committee Members:
Bernadette Lee Stephanie Nelson
Marketwire Moosehead Breweries
Toronto, ON Saint John, NB

Membership: Awards Committee: Diversity Committee:
Clint Thomas Sandra Watson Renato Zane
The Canadian Press Durham Radio OMNI Television
Toronto, ON Oshawa, ON Toronto, ON

Ethics Committee:
Gerry Phelan Robert Hurst John Hinnen
VOCM Radio CTV News Rogers Radio
St. John's, NL Toronto, ON Toronto, ON

"I am very proud of the progress RTNDA Canada has made in the past year,"
said President Bob McLaughlin, "the Board of Directors works very hard to
promote the aims and objectives of the organization, and I am honoured to work
with such a dedicated group of individuals".

Some of the key projects the RTNDA Canada Board is working on include:
- Working with the Canadian Broadcast Standards Council (Administrator
of the RTNDA Code of Ethics)
- Naming of new RTNDA Awards as well as continually working on updating
the awards criteria
- Developing more tools to assist working journalists in Canada
- Getting the student members the future of our industry more involved
in RTNDA Canada

RTNDA Canada is the voice of electronic journalists and news managers in
Canada. The members of RTNDA Canada recognize the responsibility of broadcast
journalists to promote and to protect the freedom to report independently
about matters of public interest and to present a wide range of expressions,
opinions and ideas; The RTNDA Canada Code of Ethics adopted by the Canadian
Broadcast Standards Council, is used to measure fairness and accuracy in our

For further information: contact Sherry Denesha, Operations Manager, RTNDA Canada at (416) 756-2213 or email: sherry@rtndacanada.com or visit www.rtndacanada.com

print email rss