RTNDA Canada announces Central Region Award Recipients

Jun 19, 2008

OTTAWA, ON, June 19 /CNW/ - RTNDA Canada, The Association of Electronic
Journalists has honoured the best in electronic journalism in the Central
region in 2007. RTNDA Canada presented the coveted RTNDA Awards at the RTNDA
National Conference this evening in Ottawa, ON.
"Congratulations to all the winners" said RTNDA President Bob McLaughlin.
"This is an incredible accomplishment and it shows that quality journalism is
thriving in Canada."
The Central Regional winners go on to compete for the RTNDA National
Awards to be presented at the RTNDA National Conference in Ottawa on June 21,

The 2007 TELEVISION winners are:

Bert Cannings Award - Best Newscast

- A-Channel Barrie for A-Channel News At 6- (Medium Market)
- Global Television Quebec for Transit Strike Day! - (Large Market)

Charlie Edwards Award - Spot News

- Citytv Toronto for Weekend CityNews at 6

Dan McArthur Award - In-depth/Investigative
- Global News Toronto for Trucking Schools
- Citytv Toronto for Silverman Helps - Plimmer Attack - (Honourable
- CTV News Ottawa for Domestic Violence - (Honourable Mention)

Dave Rogers Award - Short Feature

- A-Channel London for Pilgrimage of Honour - (Medium Market)
- CBC Television Ottawa for Secular Ontario - (Large Market)
- CTV Montreal for Dreams Take Flight - (Honourable Mention)

Dave Rogers Award - Long Feature

- A-Channel Barrie for China Babies - (Medium Market)
- CTV Montreal for Quebec Election 2007 - (Large Market)

Gord Sinclair Award - Special Events

- Citytv Toronto for City Vote 2007

Ron Laidlaw Award - Continuing Coverage

- A-Channel London for Manhunt: The Search for Jesse Imeson
- Global News Ontario for School Security - (Honourable Mention)
- CBMT for Election Coverage - (Honourable Mention)

Sam Ross Award - Editorial/Commentary

- CBMT Montreal for Student Strike

Trina McQueen Award - News Information Program

- CTV Southwestern Ontario for Provincewide October 21, 2007

Best Videography Award
- CTV Southwestern Ontario for Firefighters - CTV News at 6

Adrienne Clarkson Award For Diversity

- Global News Ontario for Black History Month

The 2007 RADIO winners are:

Byron MacGregor Award - Best Newscast

- Bayshore Broadcasting - 97.7 The Beach Wasaga Beach for
The 8AM News - (Small Market)
- AM800 CKLW Windsor for The 5am News With Rob Shervill -
(Medium Market)
- CBC Radio Thunder Bay for Thunder Bay Morning News -
(Medium Market - Honourable Mention)
- Newstalk 1010 CFRB Toronto for The 8 O'Clock News with Dave Agar -
(Large Market)
- 680 News Toronto for Snow Day - (Large Market - Honourable Mention)

Charlie Edwards Award - Spot News

- 680 News Toronto for House Explosion
- Newstalk 1010 CFRB Toronto for The Jordan Manners Murder -
(Honourable Mention)

Dan McArthur Award - In-depth/Investigative

- CBC Radio 99.1 FM Toronto for Subliminal Slots
- CBC Radio Montreal for Baby Weight Worries - (Honourable Mention)

Dave Rogers Award - Short Feature

- The Moose 106.3 FM North Bay for Kayla's Hope - (Small Market)
- CHYR-FM Leamington for "David" - (Small Market - Honourable Mention)
- Newstalk 610 CKTB St. Catharines for Focus Niagara: Soaring Loonie -
(Medium Market)
- CFRA Radio Ottawa for Aggressive Panhandlers Feeding the Pigeons -
(Large Market)

Dave Rogers Award - Long Feature

- CHYR-FM Leamington for "Death of a Hero" - (Small Market)
- EZ Rock Timmins for Aboriginal Awareness Series - (Small Market -
Honourable Mention)
- CBC Radio Sudbury for "Gloria Nobody"- (Medium Market)
- CBC Radio "Metro Morning" 99.1 FM Toronto for Throwaway Women -
(Large Market)
- K-Lite / 820 CHAM / OLDIES 1150 Hamilton for Plastimet - 10 Years
Later - (Large Market - Honourable Mention)

Ron Laidlaw Award - Continuing Coverage

- Newstalk 1010 CFRB Toronto for The Jordan Manners Murder

Sam Ross Award - Editorial/Commentary

- CJAD 800 Montreal for Birds Eye View - Tiger Woods

Peter Gzowski Award - News Information Program

- Newstalk 1010 CFRB Toronto for Toronto at Noon with Dave Trafford
- CBC Radio Sudbury for Morning North - (Honourable Mention)

Gord Sinclair Award - Live Special Events
- CBC Radio Montreal for Live: Speaking Out on Reasonable Accommodation
- Newstalk 1010 CFRB Toronto for 100 Years of Hockey at St. Mike's -
(Honourable Mention)

Best Use of New Media Award
- CBC News Toronto for CBCNews.ca

Adrienne Clarkson Award For Diversity

- CBC Radio Montreal for "Never Let Go"

RTNDA Canada is the voice of electronic journalists and news managers in
Canada. The members of RTNDA Canada recognize the responsibility of broadcast
journalists to promote and to protect the freedom to report independently
about matters of public interest and to present a wide range of expressions,
opinions and ideas. The RTNDA Canada Code of Ethics, adopted by the Canadian
Broadcast Standards Council, is used to measure fairness and accuracy in our

/NOTE TO PHOTO EDITORS: A photo accompanying this release is available on
the CNW Photo Network and archived at http://photos.newswire.ca.
Additional archived images are also available on the CNW Photo Archive
website at http://photos.newswire.ca. Images are free to accredited
members of the media/

For further information: Sherry Denesha, Operations Manager, RTNDA Canada at (416) 756-2213 or email: sherry@rtndacanada.com

print email rss