RTNDA Canada announces Atlantic Regional Award Recipients

May 23, 2009

MONCTON, NB, May 23 /CNW/ - RTNDA Canada, The Association of Electronic
Journalists has honoured the best in electronic journalism in the Atlantic
region in 2008. The Association presented the coveted RTNDA Awards at the
Atlantic Region Awards Banquet this evening in Moncton, NB.
"Congratulations to all the winners" said RTNDA President Cal Johnstone.
"These awards underline the value of local news coverage to Canadian

The 2008 TELEVISION winners are:

Bert Cannings Award - Best Newscast

- CBC Newfoundland & Labrador for CBC News: Here & Now - (Medium
- CBAT for Flood Coverage - (Medium Market - Honourable Mention)

Charlie Edwards Award - Spot News

- CBC TV Nova Scotia for Porter's Lake Fire

Dan McArthur Award - In-depth/Investigative

- CBC TV St. John's for Bankrupt Developer
- Telejournal Acadie for Heritage Toxique Aux Iles - (Honourable

Dave Rogers Award - Short Feature

- CBC News: Nova Scotia for Double Yolks - (Medium Market)
- CBC News: Nova Scotia for Elevator Man - (Medium Market -
Honourable Mention)

Dave Rogers Award - Long Feature

- Radio - Canada Moncton for Alexandre Parks - (Medium Market)

Ron Laidlaw Award - Continuing Coverage

- CBC News New Brunswick for Tobique First Nation
- CBC Nova Scotia for Jimmy Melvin Junior - (Honourable Mention)
- Global News Maritimes for New Brunswick Flooding - (Honourable

The 2008 RADIO winners are:

Byron MacGregor Award - Best Newscast

- KHJ for 5 O'clock News - (Small Market)
- VOCM for VOCM News - (Medium Market)
- News 95.7 for Wildfires in Halifax - (Medium Market - Honourable

Adrienne Clarkson Award - Diversity

- CBC Cape Breton for Indian Enough?
- CBC Radio Halifax for Kosovars in the Maritime - (Honourable

Best Use of Sound Award

- CBC Cape Breton for Shipyard Snakes

Charlie Edwards Award - Spot News

- CBC Radio Fredericton for Natural Gas Explosion

Dan McArthur Award - In-depth/Investigative

- CBC Radio, St. John's for Suicidal Teens

Dave Rogers Award - Short Feature

- News 88.9 for Stolen Monkey Reunion - (Medium Market)

Dave Rogers Award - Long Feature

- CJLS for Remembering the Forgotten War - (Small Market)
- Radio-Canada Acadie for Swissair 111, 10 ans après - (Medium
- CBC Cape Breton for Cape Breton Bookmobile - (Medium Market -
Honourable Mention)

Gord Sinclair Award - Live Special Events

- CBC Radio Moncton for Bathurst Funeral

Peter Gzowski Award - News Information Program

- CBC Radio Halifax for The Springhill Bump: 50 Years Later

Ron Laidlaw Award - Continuing Coverage

- CBC Radio Newfoundland & Labrador for Cameron Inquiry
- VOCM News for Murder (Honourable Mention)

Sam Ross Award - Editorial/Commentary

- CBC Radio, Maritimes for Piping Plovers Call it Quits
- News 95.7 for Wizard of Ottawa - (Honourable Mention)

RTNDA Canada is the voice of electronic journalists and news managers in
Canada. The members of RTNDA Canada recognize the responsibility of broadcast
journalists to promote and to protect the freedom to report independently
about matters of public interest and to present a wide range of expressions,
opinions and ideas. The RTNDA Canada Code of Ethics, adopted by the Canadian
Broadcast Standards Council, is used to measure fairness and accuracy in our

For further information: Sherry Denesha, Operations Manager, RTNDA Canada at (416) 756-2213 or email: sherry@rtndacanada.com

print email rss