2011 RTNDA Canada Lifetime Achievement Award Winners

Feb 23, 2011

TORONTO, Feb. 23 /CNW/ - RTNDA Canada - The Association of Electronic Journalists is pleased to announce that Tim Spelliscy and Jim Smalley will be honoured with 2011 RTNDA Lifetime Achievement Awards in the Prairie Region.  The awards will be presented at the RTNDA Prairie Regional Awards Banquet in Saskatoon on Saturday, April 9.

Tim Spelliscy is definitely a man who has dedicated his life to broadcasting.  His career has taken him from small town radio to national television - from writing and announcing to the "voice of the Oilers" to station management.  Tim is best known for leading ITV News, now Global Edmonton, to prominence as "Edmonton's News".  Recognized for his news savvy and hard work, Tim grew the staff and hours of news to a market leading 40 hours per week - adding remote weather stations, microwave trucks, and Edmonton's first television meteorologist.  ITV News became the most comprehensive news coverage from the busiest newsroom in the city.  Tim's leadership in broadcasting is also reflected in his dedication to the community he serves.  He is a committed and focused member of the Edmonton community - fundraiser, board member, media adviser and is one of the most sought after volunteer emcees in the city. 

When you imagine a face in broadcasting in Edmonton, one automatically thinks of Tim Spelliscy.

Jim Smalley was raised on a farm near Corning, SK about 85 miles southeast of Regina.  His career in Radio began in March 1973, at CKDR in Dryden, Ontario where he interned in all aspects of radio.  Jim moved to CKDR's sister station CFOB in Fort Frances in September of that year, and was an on-air host as well as doing news.  He did a brief stint at CFSL in Weyburn in 1974 before being hired at CKCK Radio in Regina in 1975, becoming that stations first ever farm news director.  Jim was hired by CKRM in 1982, and has been farm news director ever since.  He also hosted agriculture reports on CTV Regina for almost 15 years.  Jim also produced the open line show hosted by Lorne Harasen from 1986-91, and became host of what is now "Newsline at Noon" in 2007.  Outside radio, Jim has been with the Regina Coin club since 1981, and was president in 1982-83, and has been vice president for the past 10 years, and recently received his 30 year pin.

The Lifetime Achievement Award was created in 2002 to recognize individuals who have distinguished themselves through outstanding service and continued excellence during the course of their career in broadcast journalism.

RTNDA Canada is the voice of electronic journalists and news managers in Canada.  The members of RTNDA Canada recognize the responsibility of broadcast journalists to promote and to protect the freedom to report independently about matters of public interest and to present a wide range of expressions, opinions and ideas.  The RTNDA Canada Code of Ethics adopted by the Canadian Broadcast Standards Council, is used to measure fairness and accuracy in our profession.

For further information:

contact RTNDA Canada:

Sherry Denesha    
Operations Manager    
(416) 756-2213     
            Andy LeBlanc
(506) 325-4705

print email rss