RTDNA Canada announces Prairie Regional Award Recipients

Apr 6, 2013

WINNIPEG, April 6, 2013 /CNW/ - RTDNA Canada, The Association of Electronic Journalists, is pleased to recognize excellence in electronic journalism in the Prairie Region.

RTDNA Canada Awards honour the best programs, stations and newsgathering organizations in radio, television and digital. "These awards are named after pioneers and innovators of our industry, and some of them were the founders of our association more than fifty years ago," said RTDNA Canada President Ian Koenigsfest.  "We're pleased to continue celebrating excellence in electronic and digital journalism. Our founders would be proud of the quality of award winning local news coverage today."


Bert Cannings Award - Best Newscast
• CTV Lethbridge for 5 PM News, September 19, 2012 (Small Market)
• CTV Regina for CTV News at Six (Medium Market)
• Global Edmonton for Hub Mall Shooting (Large Market)

Adrienne Clarkson Award - Diversity
• Global Edmonton for MS Mom

Charlie Edwards Award - Spot News
• Global Television Winnipeg for Albert St. Fire

Dan McArthur Award - In-depth/Investigative
• CBC Edmonton for Where There's Smoke

Dave Rogers Award - Short Feature
• Global Regina for Willow Bunch Giant (Small/Medium Market)
• CBC Edmonton for Brick by Brick (Large Market)

Dave Rogers Award - Long Feature
• CBC Saskatchewan for The Beat Within: A Celebration of Powwow (Small/Medium Market)
• CTV Edmonton for Heroes of Slave Lake (Large Market)

Gord Sinclair - Live Special Events
• CBC Edmonton for Alberta Votes 2012: The Leaders Forum

Ron Laidlaw Award - Continuing Coverage
• CTV Winnipeg for Fire and Ice - Saving Vita

Trina McQueen Award - News Information Program
• CBC North - Nord Quebec for High Hopes

Hugh Haugland Award - Creative Use of Video
• CTV Calgary for Stampede Buckle

Sam Ross Award - Editorial Commentary
• 630 CHED for Bob Layton's Argument Desk

Digital Media Award
• CBC Saskatchewan for Tales from the Tornado: 1912-2012

Sports Award
• CTV Lethbridge for Shooting For A Career, Terrence Blake Story (Small/Medium Market)
• Global Calgary for Mystery Skates (Large Market)


Byron MacGregor Award - Best Newscast
• Today's Country 900 CKBI for Big Blackout of 2012 (Small Market)
• CBC Saskatchewan for Tornado Hunters - June 26, 2012 Newscast (Medium Market)
• CBC Radio Edmonton for June 15, 2012 Morning Newscast (Large Market)

Dick Smyth Award - Use of Sound
• CBC Edmonton for CEO of the Snow Fort

Charlie Edwards Award - Spot News
• News Talk 980 CJME for Tornado Tuesday

Dan McArthur Award - In-depth/Investigative
• CBC Calgary for Whistleblower Retribution

Dave Rogers Award - Short Feature
• News Talk 980 CJME for Cyclone Centennial, The Regina Cyclone 100 Years Later (Small/Medium Market)
• CBC Radio Calgary for The 14-Year Engagement (Large Market)

Dave Rogers Award - Long Feature
• CBC North for Cancer in Fort Good Hope (Small/Medium Market)
• CBC Edmonton for Mystery in Mill Creek (Large Market)

Gord Sinclair Award - Live Special Events
• CBC Edmonton for Radio Active Live at the Edmonton Folk Music Festival

Peter Gzowski Award - News Information Program
• CBC Calgary for The Calgary Eyeopener

Ron Laidlaw Award - Continuing Coverage
• CBC Calgary for Contamination Concerns

Adrienne Clarkson Award - Diversity
• CBC Manitoba for The Sinclair Project

RTDNA Canada is the voice of electronic and digital journalists and news managers in Canada. The members of RTDNA Canada recognize the responsibility of broadcast journalists to promote and to protect the freedom to report independently about matters of public interest and to present a wide range of expressions, opinions and ideas.  The RTDNA Canada Code of Ethics, adopted by the Canadian Broadcast Standards Council, is used to measure fairness and accuracy in our profession.


For further information:

Sherry Denesha, Operations Manager, RTDNA Canada at (416) 756-2213 or sherry@RTDNAcanada.com or Ian Koenigsfest, President, RTDNA Canada at (604) 331-2790 or president@RTDNAcanada.com

print email rss