RTDNA Canada announces BC Regional Award Recipients

Apr 6, 2013

BURNABY, BC, April 6, 2013 /CNW/ - RTDNA Canada, The Association of Electronic Journalists, is pleased to recognize excellence in electronic journalism in the BC Region.

RTDNA Canada Awards honour the best programs, stations and newsgathering organizations in radio, television and digital. "These awards are named after pioneers and innovators of our industry, and some of them were the founders of our association more than fifty years ago," said RTDNA Canada President Ian Koenigsfest.  "We're pleased to continue celebrating excellence in electronic and digital journalism. Our founders would be proud of the quality of award winning local news coverage today."


Bert Cannings Award - Best Newscast
• CJFC-TV Kamloops for CJFC TV Evening News - July 5, 2012 (Small Market)
• CTV Vancouver Island for CTV News at 5 (Medium Market)
• CTV British Columbia for CTV News at Six - September 10, 2012 (Large Market)

Adrienne Clarkson Award - Diversity
• Global BC for Chinatown Tailors

Gord Sinclair - Live Special Events
• Global BC for Christmas Wish Breakfast

Dan McArthur Award - Indepth/Investigative
• CTV British Columbia for Shark Fin Soup

Dave Rogers Award - Short Feature
• CTV Vancouver Island for BBQ Chip Bandits (Small/Medium Market)
• CBC Vancouver for Bogus Botox (Large Market)

Dave Rogers Award - Long Feature
• CTV Vancouver Island for David Foster Foundation: Organ Donor Awareness (Small/Medium Market)
• CTV British Columbia for First Story - Crude Awakening (Large Market)

Ron Laidlaw Award - Continuing Coverage
• CTV British Columbia for Faulty Washers

Hugh Haugland Award - Creative Use of Video
• CTV British Columbia for The Butcher

Charlie Edwards Award - Spot News
• CTV British Columbia for Peachland Wildfire

Sports Award
• CHEK TV for Concussion Come-Back (Small/Medium Market)
• CTV British Columbia for Senior Power (Large Market)

Trina McQueen Award - News Information Program
• CTV BC for First Story - Broken Homes

Digital Media Award 
• CBC Vancouver for The Grey Area


Byron MacGregor Award - Best Newscast
• CKBZ Kamloops for B-100 Noon News - April 19, 2012 (Small Market)
• CFAX 1070 Victoria for Victoria @ Noon (Medium Market)
• CBC News Vancouver for 7:30 Newscast (Large Market)

Adrienne Clarkson Award - Diversity
• CBC Radio The Early Edition for Chinatown Chronicles

Gord Sinclair Award - Live Special Events
• CBC Radio Vancouver for Bullying Forum with Teens

Dan McArthur Award - In-depth/Investigative
• CKNW Radio for Saving the Taxisaver Program

Dave Rogers Award - Short Feature
• CBC Radio Kamloops for Veteran (Small/Medium Market)
• CBC Vancouver - The Early Edition for No Small Feet (Large Market)

Dave Rogers Award - Long Feature
• CBC Radio Victoria for Sisters of Silence, Inside the Modern Monastery (Small/Medium Market)
• CKNW Radio for Amanda's Story (Large Market)

Ron Laidlaw Award - Continuing Coverage
• CKNW Radio for John Furlong - A Firestorm of Allegations

Charlie Edwards Award - Spot News
• CBC Radio Vancouver for Johnsons Landing

Sports Award
• CBC Kamloops for Marty and the Blazers (Small/Medium Market)

Peter Gzowski Award - News Information Program
• CKNW Radio for Ending the free ride on transit

Dick Smyth Award - Use of Sound
• CBC Radio Vancouver for Swingin' City - Jazz Clubs

Sam Ross Award - Editorial / Commentary 
• CKNW Radio for Racism at its core

RTDNA Canada is the voice of electronic and digital journalists and news managers in Canada. The members of RTDNA Canada recognize the responsibility of broadcast journalists to promote and to protect the freedom to report independently about matters of public interest and to present a wide range of expressions, opinions and ideas.  The RTDNA Canada Code of Ethics, adopted by the Canadian Broadcast Standards Council, is used to measure fairness and accuracy in our profession.


For further information:

Sherry Denesha, Operations Manager, RTDNA Canada at (416) 756-2213 or sherry@RTDNAcanada.com or Ian Koenigsfest, President, RTDNA Canada at (604) 331-2790 or president@RTDNAcanada.com

print email rss