RTDNA Canada announces Central Region Award Recipients

Apr 4, 2012

TORONTO, April 4, 2012 /CNW/ - RTDNA Canada, The Association of Electronic Journalists, is pleased to recognize excellence in electronic journalism in the Central Region when it presents its annual awards in Toronto on June 21, 2012.

The RTDNA Canada Awards honour the best programs, stations and newsgathering organizations in both radio and television. "The quality of electronic journalism in these entries would make the broadcasters who founded this association very proud," said RTDNA Canada President Andy LeBlanc. "We had a record number of award submissions this year - a great way to celebrate our 50th anniversary. I look forward to meeting each of the winners and I hope you will also join me in the celebrations at the Central Region Awards Reception June 21st, and for the National Conference June 21-23 in Toronto."


Bert Cannings Award - Best Newscast
• CTV Barrie for CTV News 6 (Medium Market)
• Citytv for Citynews at Six (Large Market)

Adrienne Clarkson Award - Diversity
• CTV Southwestern Ontario for Many Faces, One Force

Charlie Edwards Award - Spot News
• CP24 for In The Line Of Duty

Dan McArthur Award - In-depth/Investigative
• CTV Montreal for Dirty Little Secret

Dave Rogers Award - Short Feature
• CTV Sault Ste. Marie for Lilli's Room (Small Market)
• CTV Southwestern Ontario for Battery Heart (Medium Market)
• CTV Sudbury for Tower Take-down (Medium Market - Honourable Mention)
• Global Toronto for Generation Inspiration - Filling the Silence (Large Market)
• CTV Ottawa for Amazing People (Large Market - Honourable Mention)

Dave Rogers Award - Long Feature
• Rogers TV Simcoe for In Focus: My Christian Island (Small Market)
• CTV Windsor for Boblo Island (Medium Market)
• CTV Montreal for Caught In A Trap (Large Market)

Gord Sinclair - Live Special Events
• Citytv for New Year's Bash 2012

Ron Laidlaw Award - Continuing Coverage
• CBC Montreal for Richelieu Floods
• Global Montreal for St-Jean Flooding (Honourable Mention)

Trina McQueen Award - News Information Program
• Global Toronto for Focus Ontario: First Nations' Troubles

Hugh Haugland Award - Creative Use of Video
• CTV Montreal for Path to Parenthood


Byron MacGregor Award - Best Newscast
• Mix 106.5 Owen Sound for 7 O'Clock News (Small Market)
• CKLW AM 800 for 7am News (Medium Market)
• CFRA 580 for 7:30am News (Large Market)

Best Use of Sound Award
• CBC Windsor for The Harrow Fair Pie Auction

Charlie Edwards Award - Spot News
• CKNX AM 920 Wingham for Goderich Tornado
• 680News Toronto for The Death of Sgt. Ryan Russell (Honourable Mention)

Dan McArthur Award - In-depth/Investigative
• CBC Sudbury for Sudbury: Addicted City
• 580 CFRA Ottawa for Inside the Ottawa Police Cellblock (Honourable Mention)

Dave Rogers Award - Short Feature
• Newstalk 1010 for 10th Anniversary of 9/11 (Large Market)

Dave Rogers Award - Long Feature
• CBC Sudbury for Sudbury: Addicted City (Medium Market)
• CBC Toronto for The Indignity of Aging: Ontario's Home Care System (Large Market)

Gord Sinclair Award - Live Special Events
• 680 News for State Funeral for Jack Layton

Peter Gzowski Award - News Information Program
• CJAD for Rebuilding Haiti

Ron Laidlaw Award - Continuing Coverage
• CKNX AM 920 Wingham for Goderich Tornado

Adrienne Clarkson Award - Diversity
• CBC Thunder Bay for Common Ground Cafe

Peter Gzowski Award - News Information Program
• CJAD Montreal for Rebuilding Haiti

Digital Media Award
• CBC News Toronto for Ontario Votes 2011

Sam Ross Award - Editorial/Commentary
• Newstalk 1010 Toronto for News and Views with Dave Agar

NOTE TO EDITORS: RTDNA Regional Awards announcements for BC, Prairie and Atlantic regions were announced in recent weeks. For more information or to register for the BC, Prairie or Atlantic Region conferences being held April 14th, and the National Conference June 21st-23rd (with Central Region awards presented June 21st) please see rtdnacanada.com .

RTDNA Canada is the voice of electronic journalists and news managers in Canada. The members of RTDNA Canada recognize the responsibility of broadcast journalists to promote and to protect the freedom to report independently about matters of public interest and to present a wide range of expressions, opinions and ideas.  The RTDNA Canada Code of Ethics, adopted by the Canadian Broadcast Standards Council, is used to measure fairness and accuracy in our profession.

For further information:

Sherry Denesha, Operations Manager, RTDNA Canada at (416) 756-2213 or sherry@rtdnacanada.com or Andy LeBlanc, President, RTDNA Canada at (506) 325-4705 or president@rtdnacanada.com