RTDNA Canada announces Atlantic Regional Award Recipients

Mar 21, 2012

TORONTO, March 21, 2012 /CNW/ - RTDNA Canada, The Association of Electronic Journalists, is pleased to recognize excellence in electronic journalism in the Atlantic Region when it presents its annual awards in Dartmouth, NS on April 14, 2012.

The RTDNA Canada Awards honour the best programs, stations and newsgathering organizations in both radio and television. "Many of these awards are named after the people who founded our association back in 1962." said RTDNA Canada President Andy LeBlanc. "It is now our 50th anniversary year, and these innovators and pioneers in the Canadian news profession would be proud to see the quality of electronic journalism that continues today. Congratulations to all the winners. I look forward to meeting you at the Atlantic Region Conference next month."


Bert Cannings Award - Best Newscast
• CBC Nova Scotia for Nova Scotia at 6 (Medium Market)

Adrienne Clarkson Award - Diversity
• CTV Atlantic for Hanukkah

Charlie Edwards Award - Spot News
• Global Maritimes for Canoe Capsized

Dan McArthur Award - In-depth/Investigative
• CBC Newfoundland/Labrador for Behind Closed Doors

Dave Rogers Award - Short Feature
• CBC Newfoundland/Labrador for Final Journey Home (Medium Market)

Gord Sinclair - Live Special Events
• NTV News for Federal Election Coverage

Ron Laidlaw Award - Continuing Coverage
• CBC Newfoundland/Labrador for Excess Skin Surgery

Trina McQueen Award - News Information Program
• CTV Atlantic for Live at 5

Hugh Haugland Award - Creative Use of Video
• CBC Nova Scotia for The Gaspereau Run


Byron MacGregor Award - Best Newscast
• News91.9 Moncton for The Afternoon News (Small Market)
• News 95.7 Halifax for The Morning News (Medium Market)

Best Use of Sound Award
• CBC Cape Breton for Hillshore Farm Soundscape

Charlie Edwards Award - Spot News
• News 95.7 Halifax for Ships Start Here

Dan McArthur Award - In-depth/Investigative
• CBC Moncton for Grasshopper Foundation

Dave Rogers Award - Short Feature
• News 95.7 Halifax for Will and Kate on PEI (Medium Market)

Gord Sinclair Award - Live Special Events
• News 95.7 Halifax for Canada Votes 2011

Peter Gzowski Award - News Information Program
• News 95.7 Halifax for Stand Against Bullies

Ron Laidlaw Award - Continuing Coverage
• News 91.9 Moncton for Romero Cormier on Trial

Digital Media Award
CBC New Brunswick - Fractured Future

RTDNA Regional Awards announcements for BC and Prairie regions were announced earlier this month, and Central Region Awards will be announced April 4th.  For more information or to register for the BC, Prairie or Atlantic Region conferences being held April 14th, or for the National Conference June 21st-23rd (with Central Region awards presented June 21st) please see rtdnacanada.com .

RTDNA Canada is the voice of electronic journalists and news managers in Canada.  The members of RTDNA Canada recognize the responsibility of broadcast journalists to promote and to protect the freedom to report independently about matters of public interest and to present a wide range of expressions, opinions and ideas.  The RTDNA Canada Code of Ethics, adopted by the Canadian Broadcast Standards Council, is used to measure fairness and accuracy in our profession.

For further information:

For more information, contact Sherry Denesha, Operations Manager, RTDNA Canada at (416) 756-2213 or sherry@rtdnacanada.com or Andy LeBlanc, President, RTDNA Canada at (506) 325-4705 or president@rtdnacanada.com

print email rss