RTDNA Canada announces Prairie Regional Award Recipients

Mar 14, 2012

TORONTO, March 14, 2012 /CNW/ - RTDNA Canada, The Association of Electronic Journalists, is pleased to recognize excellence in electronic journalism in the Prairie Region when it presents its annual awards in Winnipeg on April 14, 2012.

The RTDNA Canada Awards honour the best programs, stations and newsgathering organizations in both radio and television. "These awards are named after some of the pioneers and innovators in our industry, and some of them were the founders of our association fifty years ago," said RTDNA Canada President Andy LeBlanc.  "We're pleased to continue celebrating excellence in electronic journalism. Our founders would be proud of the quality of award winning local news coverage today."


Bert Cannings Award - Best Newscast

  • CBC North Yellowknife for Northbeat (Small Market)
  • Global Lethbridge for News Hour (Small Market - Honourable Mention)
  • CTV Regina for CTV News 6pm (Medium Market)
  • CTV Edmonton for Slave Lake Disaster (Large Market)
  • Global Calgary for Windstorm (Large Market - Honourable Mention)

Adrienne Clarkson Award - Diversity

  • Global Saskatoon for Accessible Saskatoon - Not!

Charlie Edwards Award - Spot News

  • CTV Edmonton for Slave Lake Fire

Dan McArthur Award - In-depth/Investigative

  • Global Edmonton for Romance Scam

Dave Rogers Award - Short Feature

  • CTV Regina for Project First Goal (Medium Market)
  • Global Calgary for Adoption Reunion (Large Market)

Dave Rogers Award - Long Feature

  • CHAT-TV Medicine Hat for School's Out - The Long Road Ahead for Rural Education (Small Market)
  • CTV Regina for Return to Willowbunch (Medium Market)
  • Global Regina for Becoming Snowbird 6 (Medium Market - Honourable Mention)
  • Global Winnipeg for Focus Manitoba - Churchill (Large Market)

Gord Sinclair - Live Special Events

  • CBC Manitoba for Manitoba Flood 2011

Ron Laidlaw Award - Continuing Coverage

  • CTV Edmonton for Slave Lake Fires
  • CBC News Edmonton for Damage Control (Honourable Mention)

Trina McQueen Award - News Information Program

  • CTV Saskatchewan for Chasing Normal
  • CTV Regina for Silent Epidemic (Honourable Mention)

Hugh Haugland Award - Creative Use of Video

  • CTV Calgary for Muay Thai
  • CTV Calgary for Rock Guitar Shelter (Honourable Mention)

Sam Ross Award - Editorial Commentary

  • Global Edmonton for Bob Layton's Silver Balls, It's Only Taxpayer's Money

Digital Media Award

  • CBC Manitoba for CBC Manitoba Web Feature


Byron MacGregor Award - Best Newscast

  • CJUV FM Sunny 94 Lacombe for November 7th - 8am Newscast (Small Market)
  • News Talk 980 CJME Regina for 5:00 Report (Medium Market)
  • CBC Radio Edmonton for May 16, 2011 Morning Radio Newscast (Large Market)

Best Use of Sound Award

  • CBC Edmonton for Here Come the Taxes

Charlie Edwards Award - Spot News

  • CKOM News Talk 650 Saskatoon for Plane Crash in Saskatoon

Dan McArthur Award - In-depth/Investigative

  • CBC Calgary for The Not-So-Grand Prix

Dave Rogers Award - Short Feature

  • CBC North Yellowknife for Gold Range Trailbreaker (Small Market)
  • CBC Saskatchewan for Turning Point (Medium Market)
  • CBC Edmonton for Umbrella of Sadness (Large Market)

Dave Rogers Award - Long Feature

  • CBC Saskatchewan for Prison Poetry Part 3 (Medium Market)
  • CBC Calgary for Gary & Belle - A Mutual Rescue (Large Market)
  • 630 CHED for Saluting our Military Heroes (Large Market - Honourable Mention)

Gord Sinclair Award - Live Special Events

  • CBC Edmonton for Homefront

Peter Gzowski Award - News Information Program

  • CBC Saskatchewan for Spin and Tonic - Nov 4

Ron Laidlaw Award - Continuing Coverage

  • CBC Edmonton for Slave Lake Fire

Adrienne Clarkson Award - Diversity

  • CBC Calgary for Murder on the Sunchild Reserve

RTDNA Regional Awards for BC Region were announced March 7th, and announcements for other regions are scheduled as follows:

Atlantic Region - March 21st
Central Region - April 4th

For more information or to register for the BC, Prairie or Atlantic Region conferences being held April 14th, or for the National Conference June 21st-23rd (with Central Region awards presented June 21st) please see rtdnacanada.com .

RTDNA Canada is the voice of electronic journalists and news managers in Canada. The members of RTDNA Canada recognize the responsibility of broadcast journalists to promote and to protect the freedom to report independently about matters of public interest and to present a wide range of expressions, opinions and ideas.  The RTDNA Canada Code of Ethics, adopted by the Canadian Broadcast Standards Council, is used to measure fairness and accuracy in our profession.

For further information:

Sherry Denesha, Operations Manager, RTNDA Canada at (416) 756-2213 or sherry@rtndacanada.com or Andy LeBlanc, President, RTNDA Canada at (506) 325-4705 or president@rtndacanada.com

print email rss